Course Descriptions & Schedule

 

Registration for Spring 2018 classes is open now!
Inquire in the computer lab.

Computer Basics

This course provides hands-on experience with the mouse and keyboard and introduces students to the basics of working in the Windows environment including the desktop, start menu, opening programs and manipulating windows. No prior computer experience required. 2 weeks - $10
5:30PM - 7:30PM
Tuesday, April 10, 2018
Tuesday, April 17, 2018
10:30AM - 12:30PM
Friday, April 13, 2018
Friday, April 20, 2018

Internet

This course uses basic internet terminology to teach how to use Mozilla Firefox to enter web addresses, do simple searches, use navigation tools, create favorites, print and more.  (Pre-requisite: In-lab demonstration of basic computing skillset, 10 min.) 2 weeks - $10
5:30PM - 7:30PM
Tuesday, April 24, 2018
Tuesday, May 1, 2018
10:30AM - 12:30PM
Friday, April 27, 2018
Friday, May 4, 2018

File Management

Learn to use File Manager to organize and manage your files and folders. Learn the difference between Save and Save As, create folders, move files, delete and rename files, etc. (Pre-requisite: In-lab demonstration of basic computing skillset, 10 min.) 2 weeks - $10
5:30PM - 7:30PM
Tuesday, May 8, 2018
Tuesday, May 15, 2018
10:30AM - 12:30PM
Friday, May 11, 2018
Friday, May 18, 2018 (class time changed to 3PM-5PM for this session)

Intro to Microsoft Word 2016

This course introduces the student to Microsoft's word processing program. Topics include using the tools ribbon, creating, saving and printing documents, highlighting and formatting text, spelling and grammar check, headers and footers and inserting and manipulating objects such as tables, shapes and pictures. (Pre-requisite: In-lab demonstration of basic computing skillset, 10 min.) 3 weeks - $15
5:30PM - 7:30PM
Tuesday, May 22, 2018
Tuesday, May 29, 2018
Tuesday, June 5, 2018
10:30AM - 12:30PM
Friday, May 25, 2018
Friday, June 1, 2018
Friday, June 8, 2018

Intro to Microsoft Excel 2016

This course introduces the student to Microsoft Excel 2016, a spreadsheet program used for handling large amounts of data or for managing numbers and equations, such as in a budget. (Pre-requisite: In-lab demonstration of basic computing skillset, 10 min.) 3 weeks - $15
5:30PM - 7:30PM
Tuesday, June 12, 2018
Tuesday, June 19, 2018
Tuesday, June 26, 2018
10:30AM - 12:30PM
Friday, June 15, 2018
Friday, June 22, 2018
Friday, June 29, 2018

The Cloud

This course introduces the student to the cloud-based Google Drive platform. Learn how to use Google Drive to save, edit, and share your files. (Pre-requisites: In-lab demonstration of basic computing skillset, 10 min.) 2 weeks - $10
5:30PM - 7:30PM
Thursday, May 24, 2018
Thursday, May 31, 2018

Email Basics

In a one-on-one session (maximum one hour) we will help you to establish a web-based email account and show you how to read, reply to and send emails. We can help with attaching files as well. If you already have an email account, we can help you use it more effectively.
1 session – Appointment Required – Free

eBook Help

In a one-on-one session (maximum one hour) we will show you how to checkout library eBooks on your mobile device or eReader. For more information about this service, please see our eBook Help page. We also have do-it-yourself tutorials available.
1 session – Appointment Required – Free

How to Register for Classes

Advance Registration is Required for all Computer Classes

Enrollment must be done in person, in advance, at the MC-NPL Computer Lab. Students are considered enrolled only when they have paid their fees. Class fees are non-refundable.

Prior to enrolling for a course (other than Computer Basics), you may be asked to demonstrate a basic computing skillset. This should take no longer than ten minutes.

Information for Students

Students unable to attend a class session may be allowed to sit-in for later sessions, but will not receive support until they log at least one hour of unassisted self-study of the lesson plan for the missed session.

Class sessions start promptly at the scheduled time, and late arrivals (10 minutes or more) may be allowed to observe from the back of the room at staff discretion, but they will not be supported through the lesson.

Classes are held in the Computer Lab. You will need a library card with an Internet Access sticker to be admitted to the lab. Please sign in with the Lab Staff a few minutes before class begins.

In case of inclement weather students should call the library on day of class to be sure it is open. If the library is closed on your class day, we will make every effort to schedule a make-up class.