My Account eRead eResources
Facebook Twitter Instagram

About Us

The front entrance of the Montgomery County-Norristown Public Library taken from outside the building

The Montgomery County-Norristown Public Library, a gateway to lifelong learning, provides convenient access to resources that inform, educate, entertain, and enrich people’s lives.

The Library’s roots go back to 1794 and the founding of the “Norristown Library Company” by 90 families residing in Lower Merion, Norriton, Plymouth, Providence, Whitemarsh, Whitpain and Worcester Townships. The Library was formally incorporated in 1796. One of the signers of the Declaration of Independence, Pennsylvania Supreme Court Justice Thomas McKean, signed the charter issued in March 1796 establishing the corporation. Read more about the Library’s history

We are located on the corner of Swede and Elm and Powell streets. There is parking available under the building on the side facing Swede, and also across the street from the entrance that faces Powell.

1001 Powell St
Norristown, PA 19401
(610) 278-5100 ext. 0
(610) 277-0344


Open to the public:
Mon-Fri: 11am-3pm
Sat: 10am-2pm
Sun: Closed

Extended hours for phone calls:
Mon, Wed, Fri: 9am-5pm
Tues, Thurs: 9am-7pm
Sat: 10am-2pm
Sun: Closed

Our Staff

Kathleen Arnold-Yerger
Executive Director
610-278-5100 ext. 140

Asha Verma
Head, Circulation Services
610-278-5100 ext. 112

Loretta Righter
Head, Reference Services
610-278-5100 ext. 116

Kerri Kulesza
Head, Children’s Services
610-278-5100 ext. 144

Tom Fluharty
Head, Bookmobile & Outreach Services
610-278-5100 ext. 109

Cheryl Milligan-Davis
Head, Video Services
610-278-5100 ext. 143

Margaret Walk
Head, Technical Services
610-278-5100 ext. 118

James Albrecht
Head, Automation & Technology Services
610-278-5100 ext. 125

Valerie Johnson
Department Supervisor, Interlibrary Loan
610-278-5100 ext. 121

Andrea Philo
Webmaster, Computer Lab Manager
610-278-5100 ext. 141


Sydney Mason
Branch Manager, Conshohocken Free Library

Aileen Johnson
Branch Manager, Perkiomen Valley Library at Schwenksville

Eileen McNamara
Branch Manager, Royersford Free Public Library

Jeanne Cove
Branch Manager, Upper Perkiomen Valley Library