My Account OverDrive eRead Help eResources Facebook Twitter Instagram

About Us

 
The front entrance of the Montgomery County-Norristown Public Library taken from outside the building

The Montgomery County-Norristown Public Library, a gateway to lifelong learning, provides convenient access to resources that inform, educate, entertain, and enrich people’s lives.

We are pleased to announce the appointment of Karen J. DeAngelo as Executive Director and District Administrator effective March 1, 2021. Read the press release.

History

The Library’s roots go back to 1794 and the founding of the “Norristown Library Company” by 90 families residing in Lower Merion, Norriton, Plymouth, Providence, Whitemarsh, Whitpain and Worcester Townships. The Library was formally incorporated in 1796. One of the signers of the Declaration of Independence, Pennsylvania Supreme Court Justice Thomas McKean, signed the charter issued in March 1796 establishing the corporation. Read more about the Library’s history

Location

We are located on the corner of Swede and Elm and Powell streets. There is free parking available under the building on the side facing Swede Road.

Address:
1001 Powell St
Norristown, PA 19401
Phone:
(610) 278-5100 ext. 0
Fax:
(610) 277-0344

Hours

Building:
Mon-Fri: 10am-6pm
Sat: 9am-5pm

Computers:
Mon-Fri: 10am-5:45pm
Sat: 9am-4:45pm

Curbside pickup:
by appointment

Telephone assistance:
Mon-Thurs: 9am-8pm
Fri: 9am-6pm
Sat: 9am-5pm

Our Staff

Administration

Karen J. DeAngelo
Executive Director
610-278-5100 ext. 140
kdeangelo@mclinc.org

Michael Angstadt
Coordinator, Automation & Technology Services
610-278-5100 ext. 125
mangstadt@mclinc.org

Main Library

Thomas S. Fluharty
Director of Operations
610-278-5100 ext. 109
tfluharty@mclinc.org

Sydney Mason
Head, Adult Services
610-278-5100 ext. 112
smason@mclinc.org

Loretta Righter
Head, Reference Services
610-278-5100 ext. 201
lrighter@mclinc.org

Karen Goltz
Head, Children’s Services
610-278-5100 ext. 205
kgoltz@mclinc.org

Margaret Walk
Head, Technical Services
610-278-5100 ext. 118
mwalk@mclinc.org

Susan Horning
Head, Bookmobile, Outreach, and Interlibrary Delivery Services
610-278-5100 ext. 204
shorning@mclinc.org

Andrea Philo
Manager, Computer Lab and Website
610-278-5100 ext. 141
aphilo@mclinc.org

Cheryl Milligan-Davis
Supervisor, Video Services
610-278-5100 ext. 143
cmilligan@mclinc.org

Valerie Johnson
Supervisor, Interlibrary Loan
610-278-5100 ext. 121
vjohnson@mclinc.org

Branches

Harry Hoy
Branch Manager, Conshohocken Free Library
610-825-1656
hhoy@mclinc.org

Aileen Johnson
Branch Manager, Perkiomen Valley Library at Schwenksville
610-287-8360
ajohnson@mclinc.org

Eileen McNamara
Branch Manager, Royersford Free Public Library
610-948-7277
emcnamara@mclinc.org

Jeanne Cove
Branch Manager, Upper Perkiomen Valley Library
215-679-2020
jcove@mclinc.org