My Account eRead eResources
Facebook Twitter Instagram
Survey Results - Your Questions, Our Answers.

About Us

 
The front entrance of the Montgomery County-Norristown Public Library taken from outside the building

The Montgomery County-Norristown Public Library, a gateway to lifelong learning, provides convenient access to resources that inform, educate, entertain, and enrich people’s lives.

We are pleased to announce the appointment of Karen J. DeAngelo as Executive Director and District Administrator effective March 1, 2021. Read the press release.

History
The Library’s roots go back to 1794 and the founding of the “Norristown Library Company” by 90 families residing in Lower Merion, Norriton, Plymouth, Providence, Whitemarsh, Whitpain and Worcester Townships. The Library was formally incorporated in 1796. One of the signers of the Declaration of Independence, Pennsylvania Supreme Court Justice Thomas McKean, signed the charter issued in March 1796 establishing the corporation. Read more about the Library’s history

Location
We are located on the corner of Swede and Elm and Powell streets. There is parking available under the building on the side facing Swede, and also across the street from the entrance that faces Powell.

Address:
1001 Powell St
Norristown, PA 19401
Phone:
(610) 278-5100 ext. 0
Fax:
(610) 277-0344

Hours

Building:
Mon-Fri: 10am-3pm
Sat: 9am-3pm

Computers by appt. only:
Mon-Sat: 10am-3pm

Curbside pickup:
Mon, Wed, Fri: 9:30am-4:30pm
Tues, Thurs: 9:30am-6:30pm
Sat: 10am-2pm

Telephone assistance:
Mon, Wed, Fri: 9am-5pm
Tues, Thurs: 9am-7pm
Sat: 9am-3pm

Our Staff

Karen J. DeAngelo
Executive Director
610-278-5100 ext. 140
kdeangelo@mclinc.org

Mary Motta
Assistant Department Head, Circulation Services
610-278-5100 ext. 0
mmotta@mclinc.org

Loretta Righter
Head, Reference Services
610-278-5100 ext. 116
lrighter@mclinc.org

Becky Hoover
Assistant Department Head, Children’s Services
610-278-5100 ext. 205
rhoover@mclinc.org

Tom Fluharty
Head, Bookmobile & Outreach Services
610-278-5100 ext. 109
tfluharty@mclinc.org

Cheryl Milligan-Davis
Head, Video Services
610-278-5100 ext. 143
cmilligan@mclinc.org

Margaret Walk
Head, Technical Services
610-278-5100 ext. 118
mwalk@mclinc.org

James Albrecht
Head, Automation & Technology Services
610-278-5100 ext. 125
jalbrecht@mclinc.org

Valerie Johnson
Department Supervisor, Interlibrary Loan
610-278-5100 ext. 121
vjohnson@mclinc.org

Andrea Philo
Webmaster, Computer Lab Manager
610-278-5100 ext. 141
aphilo@mclinc.org

Branches

Sydney Mason
Branch Manager, Conshohocken Free Library
610-825-1656
smason@mclinc.org

Aileen Johnson
Branch Manager, Perkiomen Valley Library at Schwenksville
610-287-8360
ajohnson@mclinc.org

Eileen McNamara
Branch Manager, Royersford Free Public Library
610-948-7277
emcnamara@mclinc.org

Jeanne Cove
Branch Manager, Upper Perkiomen Valley Library
215-679-2020
jcove@mclinc.org