MONTGOMERY COUNTY-NORRISTOWN PUBLIC LIBRARY BOARD OF DIRECTORS MEETING MINUTES

Monday, December 5, 2023, 5:30 p.m. Maggiano's Little Italy, King of Prussia, PA

PRESENT

Cathy Sweeney Jules DeLuzio Theresa Martini Chantelle Silverio Mary Metz Brian Mays

Laura Smith

ABSENT

Cynthia Wirth Angie Hinton

STAFF PRESENT

Karen DeAngelo, Executive Director Li Kang, Accountant Sarah Hill, Office Assistant Holly Holst, Consh. Branch Mgr. Jeanne Cove, Head, Adult & Teen Margaret Walk, Head, Tech. Proc. Cliff Hirst, Administrative Assistant Tom Fluharty, Director of Operations Maxine Clarke, Human Resources Administrator Sam Pharo, Upper Perk. Branch Mgr. Susan Horning, Head, Bookmobile Karen Mitchell, Head, Childrens

CALL TO ORDER

President Cathy Sweeney called the meeting to order at 5:41 p.m.

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

Theresa **moved** to approve the minutes of the November 20, 2023 Board meeting. Mary **seconded** the motion. **The motion passed.**

PRESIDENT'S REPORT

Cathy Sweeney

Cathy reported that the Annual Appeal has raised \$20,392.00 as of December 5, 2023. This compares to the 2022 Annual Appeal having raised \$16,697.00 as of this date one year ago.

EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR'S REPORT

Karen DeAngelo

Karen presented her report.

- Karen welcomed the attending Department Heads and Branch Managers and had everyone introduce themselves in turn.
- Karen reported that the County has notified her that they have directed Kimmel Bogrette Architecture + Site to resume the programming phase of the building renovation project.
- Karen encouraged all present to reach out to their legislators and ask them to approve the School Code Appropriation before the end of 2023 as this funding is very important to libraries.

MONTGOMERY COUNTY-NORRISTOWN PUBLIC LIBRARY BOARD OF DIRECTORS MEETING MINUTES

NEW BUSINESS

- Chantelle **moved** to approve a 3.0% increase in Salaries/Wages for 2024 and two new positions, as presented in the 2024 Personnel Budget Highlights document that Karen presented to the board. Jules **seconded** the motion. **The motion passed**.
- Chantelle moved to elect the following board officers for calendar year 2024: President: Jules DeLuzio First Vice President: Theresa Martini Second Vice President/Secretary: Laura Smith Treasurer: Mary Metz Cathy seconded the motion. The motion passed.

PUBLIC COMMENTS

None.

ADJOURNMENT

Chantelle **moved** to adjourn the meeting. Mary **seconded** the motion. **The motion passed.** The meeting adjourned at 5:57 p.m.

Respectfully submitted, Cliff Hirst, Administrative Assistant

The next Board meeting is scheduled for Monday, January 22, 2024, at 4:30 p.m. This meeting will be virtual only.