My Account eRead eResources
Facebook Twitter Instagram
Survey Results - Your Questions, Our Answers.

Kelly Quigg

Apr 192021
 

 

 

 

The John James Audubon Center at Mill Grove is situated on a historic 18th-century site, the farm where 18-year-old John James Audubon lived when he first came to America from France in 1803. Here, he developed a technique for drawing birds “from life” that would allow him to become one of the world’s best-known wildlife artist. The hundreds of life-size portraits of birds contained in his seminal work The Birds of America helped inspire the formation of the National Audubon Society. The site includes the original three-story farmhouse, built in 1762, miles of nature trails along the Perkiomen Creek, and a brand new building, featuring indoor and outdoor exhibits focused on birds, art, and conservation.

Join us as Carrie Barron, Center Manager, explores the new museum dedicated to birds and the art of John James Audubon. She will focus on the birds you see in your own backyard. We will also meet one of their non-releasable owls that are native to Pennsylvania.

Carrie Barron joined the Audubon Pennsylvania team after spending more than 15 years in the environmental education field. At Mill Grove, she oversees the non-releasable bird program, volunteers, education programs, fundraising, and social media.

  • Monday, May 10 @ 7:00 pm

This program requires preregistration. To join, please sign up by clicking this link. You will receive the program invite and password immediately.

Apr 152021
 

 

 

 

Let’s celebrate Mom this year with something delicious! Work side by side with your Mom, or virtually if you live apart, to make a yummy mug cake.

  • Thursday, May 6 @ 7:00 pm

Email perkvallib@gmail.com by 5pm the Wednesday before (April 28) to sign up. Your invitation to a zoom meeting will be sent out by 6pm Wednesday night.

Sign up well ahead of time to get all the dry ingredients you need. In your email, please be sure to indicate which library you would like to pick up from: Perkiomen Valley Library or Royersford Free Public Library.

Apr 102021
 

 

 

 

One sign of spring is butterflies! Join educator Rebecca from Norristown Farm Park to learn all about butterflies. Explore the life cycle of a butterfly, discuss specific species and their host plants, and discover why butterflies are important to spring flowers.

This program is intended for children ages 6-12.

  • Saturday, April 24 @ 10:30 am

This program requires preregistration. To join, please sign up by clicking this link. You will receive the program invite and password immediately.

If you are interested in an adult/hobbyist butterfly program, consider attending the program Flying Flowers: All About Local Butterflies with Master Gardener Sandy Sweeney on Thursday, May 27 at 7:00 pm. Click here to register for Flying Flowers.

Apr 082021
 

 

 

 

Healthy and beautiful trees are a focal point of enjoyable gardens. Learn valuable tips about properly planting and mulching young trees, as well as basic pruning steps to help maintain their health and beauty.

Presented by Thom Mrazik, Master Gardener.

  • Thursday, April 29 @ 7:00 pm

This program requires preregistration. To join, please sign up by clicking this link. You will receive the program invite and password immediately.

Apr 012021
 

 

 

 

Join bestselling author David Baldacci on Thursday, April 29 at 7:00 pm LIVE via ZOOM for the 5th annual ONE BOOK, ONE COUNTY community wide event hosted by Montgomery County Libraries.

Aloysius Archer returns in David Baldacci’s A Gambling Man (April 20, 2021), “the riveting follow up to the Nero Award-winning thriller One Good Deed. Fresh out of prison, Archer is in dire need of a fresh start after a nearly fatal detour in Poca City. So Archer hops on a bus and begins the long journey out west to California, where rumor has it there is money to be made if you’re hard-working, lucky, criminal—or all three.”

“David Baldacci is a master storyteller.”–Associated Press

“Evoking the golden age of crime, and for fans of Raymond Chandler and Agatha Christie, comes A Gambling Man, from one of the world’s bestselling thriller writers, David Baldacci.” –Pan MacMillan

Tickets are $5 plus service fee for admission only or $35.00 for a Book Bundle which includes a signed copy of the book and all tax/service fees. Book pick-up locations will be Montgomery County-Norristown Library, Bala Cynwyd Library, and Open Book Book Store. Books can be shipped directly for an additional shipping fee. Tickets and book bundle go on sale April 5th.

Baldacci will be joined by Philadelphia author Jon McGoran, who will moderate the conversation. Learn more about McGoran at https://www.jonmcgoran.com.

ONE BOOK, ONE COUNTY thanks Open Book Bookstore, Elkins Park.

For more information about ONE BOOK, ONE COUNTY, go to Montgomery County Public Libraries’ website.

Apr 012021
 

 

 

 

Background

Launched by the Academy of American Poets in 1996, National Poetry Month is a month-long
celebration of all things poetry during April. This year marks the 25th anniversary. The Conshohocken
Free Library hopes to celebrate this special anniversary with the Conshohocken community and beyond
with Pop-up Poetry displays.

The Pop-up Poetry displays will be installed for the month of April at various locations around the
borough. Each display will feature a poem that connects thematically with its location. Library patrons
and community members are encouraged to visit each location at their leisure throughout April.

The goal of this celebration is to bring poetry to the local community and encourage the public to
engage with their surroundings in a new and thoughtful way. April is the first full month of Spring, and
after a long winter of isolation the library views this celebration as a meaningful way to safely spend
time outdoors and reconnect with the place we call home.

Connect

Visitors are invited to record themselves reciting the poems and then share on Facebook or Instagram
with #ConshyPoetryMonth. At the end of the month the library will release a video featuring all the
shared recordings and videos in culmination of the celebration.

Write your own poem and participate in Local Voices. Frist, choose a local spot meaningful to you.
Then, write a poem about it! When you’re finished, use this Google Form to submit. It will be added
to the interactive Pop-up Poetry Map along with the poetic offerings of strangers and neighbors alike.
Help us fill up the map with your local voice!

Locations

11th & Fayette
A. A. Garthwaite Stadium (A Field)
The Fellowship House
Conshohocken Dog Park
Conshohocken Free Library
‘feine Coffee
Mary H Wood Park
Schuylkill River Trail
Sutcliffe Park
Veterans’ Memorial Park
Click here to see a map of all locations

Selected Poems

Girls on the Town, 1946, Rita Dove
Like Him, Aaron Smith
Pickup, Alicia Ostriker
Lost Dog, Ellen Bass
Don’t Go Into the Library, Alberto Ríos
Tomorrow is a Place, Sanna Wani
Hope is a thing with feathers, Emily Dickinson
The Negro Speaks of Rivers, Langston Hughes
Loud Outs, George David Clark
Before the Deployment, Jehanne Dubrow

Follow Us:

Instagram @ConshyLibrary
Facebook @ConshyLibrary
#ConshyPoetryMonth

Questions? Kindly direct your emails to hhoy@mclinc.org.